Post by Coach Iljas on Jun 28, 2011 11:20:07 GMT -5
Simple question but I just wanted to be clear on the rules. If the ball hits the top of the backboard, is it ruled out of bounds or is it still in play? Likewise, if the ball goes over the backboard without touching it (or any wires or anything else), is it still in play? Thanks!
It is my understanding that in either scenario you describe the ball remains in play. It is only a violation if the ball hits any part of the supporting structure of the backboard, as opposed the the backboard itself.
The top and sides of the backboard are in play. However, any time the ball passes over the top of the backboard (front to back or back to front), it's a violation, regardless of whether it touches anything or not.
Right, as far as I know it's considered out of bounds only when it gets past the line. If you hit the top of the backboard and rebounds back into the field it's OK, however if it passes over it it's out.