We had a situation on an opening jump this season and I thought it was interesting.
The opening jump was tipped into a visiting player and bounced out of bounds. The home team was awarded the ball out of bounds and the possession arrow was set to give the visiting team possession.
One minute later we had the first held ball of the game. One official looked at the possession arrow and, having second thoughts, wanted to give the ball to the home team. He argued that because the visiting team had possession enough for the ball to be knocked out of bounds, the home team should get the ball.
The other official disagreed and thought that the home team had earned the first possession of the game when the ball was awarded to them after the opening tip. This is what ultimately occurred, but the first official insisted he was right. He called it a 'double jeopardy' rule.
Who was right? I looked in the rule book but I couldn't find any reference to this rule. Has this happened to anyone here?
He argued that because the visiting team had possession enough for the ball to be knocked out of bounds...
In my opinion, everything hinges on this point. If the visiting team did indeed have possession of the ball on the opening tip and the girl just lost the ball through dribbling, then the possession arrow should go to the home team and thus the first jump ball should go to the home team.
If the ball was merely tapped, or hit off of the visiting team player, then that player did not have possession of the ball and they should've re-done the opening tip because by rule the opening tip cannot go out of bounds without a possession.
Bruchu is correct on that count. "Possession" is defined as "control of the ball", which is defined as holding, dribbling, or batting the ball in a controlled fashion (and not a desperate swipe). It's not "the team that gets the first crack at scoring".